Snow: Days 12,13 & 14

Well, I wish I could say that the reason I’ve missed a few days of posting is because the Oklahoma blizzard knocked out my power, sealed my door shut, and I’ve been living off Chewy Bars and Goldfish. Unfortunately, I can’t. In reality, the “blizzard” wasn’t much of blizzard at all. Here in good ol’ Stillwater America, we got about 2 inches. That’s it. At least not for us. 100 miles west of us, it’s a different story. There were parts of northwestern Oklahoma that received over 20 inches. That’s what I’d envisioned and had been hoping for. I suppose I’ll need to move farther north to make that dream a reality. Oh well.

My absence has been largely due to a shift in my focus. I’ve felt pulled in a hundred different directions lately. Between flying, running, triathlon, school, there’s not enough hours in the day. Monday and Tuesday school was canceled due to Oklahoma’s impending doom (blizzard). This gave me some time to do something I haven’t done in a long time: read.

I picked up Be Iron Fit and read about 3/4 of it over the last two days. It’s a great read, and actually, my first Ironman related book. I was afraid the information it would provide would be over my head (the first time I read about VO2 max I decided running might be too complicated for me), but I was pleasantly surprised. It’s absolutely perfect for those beginner questions that you “always wanted to know, but were afraid to ask”. At some point in the near future I’ll post some of my favorite tidbits of knowledge from this book.

In related news, I registered for my first triathlon! In June I’ll be participating in El Reno, Oklahoma’s Route 66 Olympic Triathlon. For those of you who don’t know, there are a few distances of triathlon races:

Sprint: 0.5 mile swim, 12.4 mile bike, 3.1 mile run

Olympic: 0.93 mile swim, 24.9 mile bike, 6.2 mile run

Half-Ironman (70.3): 1.2 mile swim, 56 mile bike, 13.1 mile run

Ironman (140.6): 2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, 26.2 mile run

I’m extremely excited about this opportunity because I’ve been looking for a race between the half-marathon in April and the full in October. This seemed to be the perfect distance and gave me time to complete a short 12 week training program to prepare. Expect some good updates as I get my feet wet (literally and figuratively) in the sport of triathlon. The only downside thus far is that I’ve found my excitement has carried over into my shopping habits. A few minutes after registering for my first triathlon, I was ordering a tri-suit. That said, it’s fuel for the blog and for my motivation.

Speaking of shopping, the FedEx guy delivered two packages of running/triathlon related goodness to my doorstep today: one running singlet, a tri top, and a bike pump. The first two aren’t too exciting (yay clothes, right?), but the bike pump I’m pretty excited to share with everyone. I got Lezyne Road Drive CFH. The pump and accompanying CO2 canister attach directly under the water bottle holder on the bike, making them available on either side of the water bottle. Without going into too much detail, I love it so far. Look for the review either tomorrow or Friday.

Today The Fiancee had a 4 mile run. The wind was gusting to 25mph and because she’s a princess (I mean that in the most loving and sarcastic way possible) she wanted to run inside. I wasn’t feeling another 40 minutes on the track (and I have tri-fever) so I decided to test out a short brick. Side note: a brick is two training segments back to back. Most of the time it includes a simulated transition. So, I hopped on a stationary bike and rode a little over 6.2 miles in 22 minutes, trying to keep my cadence over 100 RPM. I jumped off the bike ready to race up the steps to the track. Then I remembered: I forgot to wipe the bike down. Crap. I snatched a Wet Wipe and cleaned the machine like someone was chasing me. After taking twenty seconds to avoid being “that person”, I ran up to the track. It was super weird having no time between the two activities. I suppose during an Ironman you have time to mentally prepare for the coming event, but for me, after exiting the bike, my legs were still in circular motion mode, not horizontal. After a lap or two of feeling like a new-born giraffe, I finally started to settle in to the run. To my surprise, I was still able to maintain a 7:45/mile pace. I did 11 laps (1 mile) and called it quits. I walked for a while, taking inventory of my body. You know, I had to make sure the legs still knew their function and that my heart had gotten the memo that we’d stopped. I told The Fiancee afterwards that I was a new kind of tired. Which is funny because the workout only equated to about 30 minutes in motion. It’s true though. Two (or three) sports are certainly harder than one.

I left the gym feeling good, but slightly worried. If I was that tired after less than a Sprint Distance Triathlon, how on earth will I complete an Ironman in a little over a year? That’s a question that will be answered later, though. After all, you don’t complete a marathon after one training session. I’ll take it one step at a time, one mile at a time.

Tagged , , , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

