The Inside Story: Day 7

Succinct. Short. That’s my plan for this post. It seems like every time I say that, though, my inner writer comes out and wants to add in a story to tie in a theme. Either that or I think of something I’ve been meaning to research and I spend an hour on Wikipedia before I know it. I can’t do that today. I have to stay focused. I have a big exam coming up on Friday. I’ll go into more details later, but for now, let’s jump right into today.

IMG_3906

Oklahoma is notorious for weather shifts. In 2009 we had a blizzard on Christmas Eve. Two days before that I was literally gardening in shorts and a t-shirt. 48 hours later, we had well over a foot of snow. Today wasn’t quite that drastic, but it’ll still wreak havoc on anyone with a weak immune system. Today was busy. Full of presentations, classes, work, a hair cut for me (can I get an “amen”?), quick stop to pick up some new clothes for The Fiancée, and finally, finally, a run. By the time we got around to it, it was sleeting. As I’ve said before, I love running in adverse weather. I just couldn’t justify the risk of slipping and falling on ice, though. I’ve run in snow before. Besides the extra calf workout, I loved it. It was vaguely reminiscent of running on sand (beside the frozen toes).
IMG_3903So, unfortunately, The Fiancée and I were forced to run inside. I cannot describe how much disdain I have for running inside. Treadmill, track, whatever. I hate it. I’d take running outside any day over the rat race that is the track at the Colvin Center here on campus. If you want a front row seat to see all the things you shouldn’t be doing while you run, sit and watch for a while. Heck, 5 minutes will do. Sorority girls running in cotton. Muscle-heads sprinting around the track in Converse. People walking in and trying to pound out a 7:00/mile without so much as a second thought to stretching before or after. These were just a few things I saw during my 44 laps. What can you do though? Everyone’s an expert.

I couldn’t find my Timex to time my laps, so I used my iPhone. I missed the “Lap” button more than once. So I used the average of the 36 times I did hit it and found my pace. I decided I didn’t want to keep track of the number of laps I ran. Yeah, I’m lazy like that. I decided, instead, to see how far I could go in 30 minutes. I’m happy to report that in 29:52 I got exactly 4 miles in. I was very pleased. I averaged about 7:35-7:40/mile by my calculations. All in all, not a terrible run. I hate running inside, but sure was happy with my improvements over last year’s training.

We capped the day off with a quick dinner on campus (reliving out freshmen days) and headed home. Unfortunately, homework beckons so I’ll wrap this up. I hope everyone had a safe and productive “hump day”. It’s all downhill from here!

Tagged , , ,

Leave a Reply

