Road Blocks: Day 6

Sometimes morning occurrences are indicative of how the rest of the day is going to go. The event (good or bad) sets the precedent the day will follow. This morning’s precedent? Small road blocks. Being a Tuesday, my week is back in full swing. My alarm went off an hour before normal people are awake and two hours before I like to be awake. We all have our crosses to bear, I suppose. Heading out the door of my apartment I took note of my car. Just yesterday I read a Lifehacker article about how to stop being late. They had one suggestion in particular for people who know exactly how long it takes to get ready, drive somewhere, etc. It sounds simple, but for a procrastinator like me, it went in one ear and out the other: leave a couple minutes to spare. I know that in the morning, I can go from crusty-eyed zombie to fully showered and semi-presentable in exactly 15 minutes. It then takes me 10-12 minutes to drive to the airport. Right on (my) schedule, I was headed out the door at 7:18 to arrive at the airport by 7:30. Small road block one then presented itself. Frost. Again.

IMG_3896

Now, I know anyone that lives above the N36° line of latitude is rolling their eyes right about now. Especially, those on the east coast. No big deal, right? I reached down to grab my ice scraper and… nothing. I came up empty. Road block number two. So after a couple minutes of scratching at my windshield with a rudimentary scraper (read: old magazine) I was on the road. Frost on a vehicle is a foolproof way of determining whether or not there will be frost on your airplane. Sure enough, I wasn’t disappointed. I spent 10 minutes deicing and pre-flighting. Followed by another 10 minutes of pre-heating the engine. After about an hour and half gracing the skies above northern Oklahoma, I landed just in time to make it to my 10:30 class.

IMG_3898IMG_3897

I went flying through campus on my bike and pulled up to the appropriate building with two minutes to spare. See? I learn my lessons. I entered the building, grabbed the handle to my classroom and nearly pulled my arm off trying to open a door that was… locked. Class canceled. This one was more of an annoyance than a road block, but work with me for the theme’s sake. Surprised and mildly in pain I switched gears and rode to work. No surprises there. I put in 5 hours and called it a day.

After a short stint at the dog park with Brinkley, it was on to Boomer Lake for another interval session. I’ll tell you up front, I didn’t beat my time from Day 2. I didn’t really expect to, though. It was another windy day here in Oklahoma. Not nearly as bad as yesterday, but enough to matter. I was much better about starting out at a suitable pace that I could maintain. In fact, I was slowest for the first half mile. I focused on a nice warm-up with a gentle lead into the first interval. Then, I don’t know what happened. The devil must have lit a fire under me or something, because I got down to almost a 6:00/mile. I’m pleased with that pace, but there’s no way on earth I could sustain that for any length of time.

Screen Shot 2013-02-19 at 5.53.26 PM

I was pleased with the consistency with which I returned to my “Steady” pace. It was almost always around 7:30/mile. I’m getting a feel for how that pace looks and feels vs. my 9:30/mile goal last year. You can find the details below.

Screen Shot 2013-02-19 at 5.54.15 PM

Lastly, my mile splits. They were much more even than Sunday’s which was great to see. Overall, I felt that the run was a much more solid performance than Sunday’s despite being about 11 seconds slower.
Screen Shot 2013-02-19 at 5.54.35 PMAfter my run, I took about 10 minutes to walk and recover. These speed workouts really have a tendency to kick your butt.

IMG_3899I returned home to an eager Retriever and a clean apartment, thanks to The Fiancee. All in all, for a day that started off with a few road blocks, it turned out to be a great day.

Tagged , , ,

2 thoughts on “Road Blocks: Day 6

  1. Stella W says:

    Zach!! You write so well! Thanks for sharing. 🙂

Leave a Reply

