Monday: Day 5

After trying for a long time to come up with a clever and relevant title, I remembered: it’s Monday. Actually, I only put a few seconds of thought into it before my mind wandered elsewhere. Probably because it’s Monday. Like 99% of the population (excluding Chris from Parks and Rec), I hate Monday’s. Not because I have to return to work or school, but because I know it will be at least another five days before I begin to feel free again. Weekends offer the allure of long, quiet runs through the country or laid back bike rides around town. Meanwhile, those same activities during the week equate to stress. One more thing to check off the to-do list. End Monday rant.

In actuality, Monday’s are typically one of my easiest days of the week. No flight, class begins at 9:30, I work for four hours, followed by another class which ends at 3:45. Then I’m done. Today offered no surprises or schedule interruptions. The Fiancée and I began another week’s training with a short 2 mile run. We’ve been putting in around 15 miles per week for the last couple weeks. My legs (who had grown accustomed to our 40 mile weeks during November/December of last year) have been aching to go farther, but part of me is enjoying the reprieve and the absence of constant exhaustion.

Our run today was fairly unremarkable apart from the inclusion of our other family member, Brinkley. Our “better third” had become a regular guest on our runs until this past weekend. We’re waiting for word from our vet on how far is too far for Brinkley. He’s become quite the runner. Trotting along beside us on any run less than 6 miles.

20130218-164358.jpg

The only other story of the day was the wind. Oh, my was it windy. Today we had gusts up to 35 mph for the entire day. Our run felt more like a fight with a rogue leaf blower than an actual run. I am happy to report, however, that all three of us survived and will live on to run another day.

When we got back, I did some quick research into how much strong winds affect running times. According to RunnersConnect:

“A ‘substantial’ wind (i.e. one approximately equal to the pace you are running at) will set you back 12 seconds per mile with a headwind, and aid you by 6 seconds per mile with a tailwind.”

The Fiancée and I were running about 6 mph. Following this rough “formula” the wind was blowing about 5-6 times our pace, thus: 12 seconds x 5 = 60 seconds per mile slower than on a calm day. In today’s simple out-and-back run it probably only added up to a little less than a minute, but could be detrimental to runners on race day. Something to keep in mind next time you’re unhappy with your times on a windy day!

Tomorrow is another speed workout for me (really happening this time) so I’m taking the rest of the night to study and relax. Hope everyone has a great week!

Tagged , ,

2 thoughts on “Monday: Day 5

  1. me4kathy1 says:

    Enjoyed reading your blog. Read all of them to date. I’m proud of you…love dad.

Leave a Reply

