Inauguration: Day 1

Valentine’s Day. I never understood why this innocuous day in February got such a bad wrap. Even when I was single, I never hated the day. I suppose it’s because I’m a fan of love. Not the public display, no-one-wants-to-see-that type of love, but the happy naiveté of youthful relationships. It wasn’t all that long ago for me, but I still look back on those times with a twinge of nostalgia.

Now, here I sit, a senior in college. Engaged. Moving in a matter of months to a new city. A new state, for that matter. Trying to make some semblance of making that new “place” a new “home”. I’m sure you’re very cognizant of the difference. The thought of moving doesn’t terrify me. Nor does the fact that I’ll be attempting to find a job for which I have no qualifications. (ADD Aside: Most people don’t realize how little you can do with a Commercial Pilot Certificate. There is literally, almost nothing. It’s the aviation equivalent of getting a Bachelor’s in Pre-Cold War Russian Literature. Rant over.) No,  the weight on my mind has been the impending challenges. The Certified Flight Instructor practical test before the end of May. One marathon in October and another in December. Throw in a marriage and a move and you’ve got your plate full.

I’ve also had this nagging feeling that I need to start writing. I don’t know what yet, or why. My senior english teacher told me that if I majored in anything other than english I’d be wasting my time. She expected me to become a writer. I suppose that’s the beauty of modern-day technology. Anyone with an agenda and an ISP can espouse their thoughts to the masses. Maybe that’s my goal with this blog. Trying to fulfill someone’s expectations, albeit without all the grandeur and apparent pretentiousness of the literary elite.

All jokes aside, I wanted this inaugural post to explain my attitudes and my goals. As far as the first point goes, I hope you’ve realized that overall, I’m a fairly jovial person, but a critically deep thinker. Two qualities that I feel society lacks today. The second point, my goals, is a much more broad subject. My goal for this blog is to chronicle my training and accomplishments. Any of you who have trained for an endurance event can relate to the number of hours you spend by yourself. Before my last marathon I peaked at about 40 miles per week. That’s a considerable amount of time to spend by yourself. You never truly know yourself until you’ve spent three hours alone on the country roads of Oklahoma. Self-reflection inevitably follows, followed either by self-loathing or  self-actualization. The latter was the case for me and I found that I was pretty comfortable with myself. Some of the most personal and awe-inspiring  moments I’ve experienced have occurred in the middle of a 20 mile Saturday run. It’s these moments, these flashes of perfection in an imperfect world that I want to capture and examine.

That’s really the heart and soul of this blog. “IronTry” is my attempt at giving a play on words deeper meaning. In May of next year I will be competing in my first Ironman. Hence the “iron” and “tri”, but it’s not really just a “tri” that I’m attempting. It’s the attempt itself. The “try”. The months of endless training. Pulling myself out of bed every morning, doing the work, and against all odds, finishing the race. I hope the metaphor is apparent in that last sentence because really, the hardest thing we do every day is wake up and get out of bed. Anyone can run 26.2 miles. It’s a test of endurance not commitment. That’s the point I want to make very clear in this post and on this day: that I am going to try my hardest in my training, and in my life, to finish the race. After all, it’s not about the destination. It’s about the journey.

Tagged , , , ,

Leave a Reply

